Essential Oils Categories

Essential oils can be divided into six types according to the plant that gives origin to them:

1 – Seeds

Seeds represent the beginning of life, the potential to become. They have a natural affinity to the digestive system, since is life based upon our ability to digest and what we digest.

2 – Roots

Roots are grounding, they represent an anchor plant, they absorb nutrients, they support balance.

3 – Woods

Woods conduct water and nutrients from roots to leaves, stems and flowers, they provide support for both plants and trees.

4 – Resins

Resins main functions are: heal and protect.

5 – Leaves and Needles

Leaves and needles are responsible for: photoseynthesis (which represents transformation), respiration, protect from water loss, ward off insects.

5 – Flowers

Flowers represent: reproduction, to attract for purpose of pollination, survival of species.

Find out which essential oils fit in each category and how they can be used for in Aromatherapy in Skin at Heart’s Patreon Page.

Published by Natalia Costa

I love laughing out loud, sharing wellness is one of my greatest joys and communicating from integrity is key to me. I believe that being playful in an emotionally charged planet is the secret to enjoy the ever present synchronicity. The journey is the destination!

Leave a Reply